There is an increasing trend around the world to have a small family rather than a large family. What are the advantages of having a small family rather than a large family?

Since the twentieth century and owing to myriad advancements that medicine has encountered, the infantile death rate has been found to significantly drop. As a consequence, families have come to have less offspring and thus reduce their size. However, some might be of the opinion that this new trend may have adverse impacts on households. Thus it begs the question: What is the balance between the pluses and minuses of this new propensity? I will aim to answer this question separately by firstly depicting the advantages and will directly follow by enumerating some adverse effects. To begin with, one meliorative outcome of having a reduced family is that parents can really focus their attention on fewer children. Hence, each child would be comforted with the care that is required and emancipates themselves in the best possible way. For instance, as the second of a house of two kids, I am deeply convinced that I have reaped the benefits of having few siblings by accessing the whole help of my mother. Another reason in favour would be, that while the poorest cannot afford to give equal opportunities to their descendants because of the outrageous cost of universities in a plethora of countries, they should subsequently be more inclined to do less of the latter in order to offer them more possibilities in their future life. On the contrary, others might highlight some controversies with regard to this proclivity. Whereas boys and girls in a large group would manage to play together, an only child might probably not be able to entertain themselves. As an example that could underpin that fact, my cousin is actually an only child and has undergone solitude during her young age. In addition, another counter effect is that offspring are drivers of joy and life within a household. Not only their various minds will certainly be a source of diversity, but also will they be the motors of the familial dynamics. To conclude, there are clear pros and cons to having a small-sized brotherhood. Nonetheless, as a brother of one sister, I am deeply convinced that an intermediate family with no more than three children is the perfect equilibrium to prune the negative aspects mentioned earlier.