People nowadays send text messages more frequently than they talk the phone. What are the reasons for this trend? Do the advantages of texting outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, more and more people are using text messages rather than talking on the phone. From my point of view, this trend was brought by social and technological advances. While there are some advantages and disadvantages, I believe such a change has more benefits. One of the major factors that contributed to this shift is that more women are working compared to a decade ago. In other words, almost all people are doing their job during the day, and there is less time to get in contact with their friends. As a result, the convenience of using text messages instead of a call created a big change in a way of communication. In addition, technological breakthroughs are also the reason for the high-frequency use of text. Because of advances in technology, lots of applications appeared in the world, such as Twitter and line. When it comes to line, more than 90% of Japanese people use the app on a daily basis. On the other hand, this trend's advantages and disadvantages need to be considered. Firstly, the benefit is that people can reply to text writing anytime. Even if you are too busy to answer a message, it is possible to check the mail after you finish your work. Moreover, text messages are saved on a phone basically, so you can look back on past messages easily. This feature let you save time taking notes such as a meeting's date or place when someone contacts you to make an appointment. By contrast, in an urgent moment, text messages can be detrimental because a sender cannot get a reply as soon as possible. And also, text messages allow you to use only letters. Unlike making a call, people cannot express their ideas with emotions, or a tone of your voice. As a negative consequence, a recipient of text messages may misunderstand your intentions. To conclude, an increasing number of females in the workplace and many attractive applications changed the way of communication from a phone to a text. Although this shift may work negatively sometimes, overall I recon that using more text messages has more positive effects.