Some species of animals are almost extinct; and many others seem to be fast approaching a similar risk. What are the reasons for this? What should be done to solve this problem?

There is an ongoing debate on animal extinction. The main causes of this phenomenon are rising needs and animal hunting, yet hope can be found through government policies’ reformation to encourage people to go vegan. Nowadays, mass-producing meat from chickens and cows is a common topic when it comes to why animals go missing. Needless to say, human' demands are something that rises almost every day as overpopulation is taking place. As a result, the desire for food—or meat, to be specific—is also rising rapidly, synonymous with more animals getting killed and soon becoming extinct. For example, in the Democratic Republic of the Congo, only newborn female chickens are allowed to live so as to lay eggs; their counterparts are ground into fine meat for nuggets and other products. Thus, rising demands from humans are one major cause that leads to extinction. Animal hunting is another cause that contributes to the problem. It is undeniable that finding scarce animals or species has been one of the recreational activities for humans, which can be described as interesting and addictive. This means people are seeking enjoyment and satisfaction from finding animals that are rare and wanted. Consequently, many invade their habitats, which leads further to migration to other regions to find a new suitable environment, which requires a significant amount of energy and time. Having found that ideal environment cannot ensure that they are safe from human activities and presence. Not to mention, migration can lead to population loss and even extinction if it happens multiple times. However, with the efforts of the authorities to set out certain rules, this issue can be much less significant. By introducing new policies encouraging more vegetables and less meat eating, animals that are now in mass production can benefit as they will be set free. Therefore, no more animals are killed, which means their extinction is prevented. Furthermore, less animal hunting as people are losing interest in meat leads to no more unnecessary energy waste. For example, Japan has applied the same programme and is finding positive outcomes, as animals do not get scared away by humans and factories are being put out of business as meat is no longer citizens' go-to. In conclusion, the problem of animal extinction is caused by high food demands and scarce animal hunting programmes. By trying to reform rules, this problem is arguably less impactful.