Because many children are not able to learn foreign languages, schools should not force them to learn foreign languages. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Undoubtedly, foreign languages play a significant role in people ’s daily lives in many of the places where people play and work. Some people think that schools should not compel children to study second languages, while others do not. Both sides may have their own reasons to support the ideas. If I had to choose one, I would say that children should learn foreign languages in schools because they are more likely to succeed academically and socialize with various people by acquiring other countries’ languages. To begin with, children with foreign languages can promote their academic performance. Studying second languages requires them to be diligent, passionate and self-disciplined. When these personal treats are well developed, it would bring a better result in schools. For example, a research on the education of students said that the children who have learned foreign languages were more likely to have a higher score on the SAT than the other students who have given up on studying those languages in schools. In particular, the former children showed a longer attention span, a stronger passion and a better ability to delay gratification. On the other hand, the latter students tended to act on impulse and get easily distracted. This implies that the acquisition of foreign languages is a key to success academically. Without those languages, they would fall behind. In addition, when schools teach children foreign languages, children are more likely to mingle well with various people from different backgrounds. It exposes them to different cultures, customs and lifestyles. This exposure allows students to acknowledge that different values exist, to understand diversities and to be ultimately comfortable with them. For instance, when I was young, I met a Chinese friend as one of my classmates. Because she was supposed to return to her country, I gave her a clock as a farewell gift. However, she got very disappointed and uncomfortable by my present. Finally, it was only after learning Chinese in a school that I came to realize that a clock as a gift meant the end and death in China. Therefore, I got used to the cultural difference by studying foreign languages. This implies that learning foreign languages can broaden students ’ horizons on a global level. Without a chance to learn those, children would ignore foreigners, single them out and discriminate against them. All things considered, I firmly believe that the advantages of learning foreign languages far outweigh those of not studying them in schools for the reasons that I have mentioned above. All in all, the importance of the second languages cannot be underestimated in children ’s lives.