Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

It is widely believed that obtaining the English language skill is more essential than studying native languages, in which many of them are facing the possibility of extinction due to a lack of education. There is no doubt that preserving local languages is imperative; however, I still believe English should be taught to everyone since it is one of the essential tools that is needed to survive in the current globalised society. On one hand, I believe it is important to protect native languages and encourage people to learn them through proper education. This is because a language is not just a communication tool, but it is part of one ’s culture. A recent study, for instance, shows that one ’s culture plays an essential role in shaping a language, so that specific nouns and verbs are only developed among people who share the same culture. Thus, it is fair to say language and culture are closely tied. On the other hand, I still think everyone should learn English as it is the de-facto official language used on the international stage, which is more well-connected than ever. This is why many international financial hubs like Hong Kong and Singapore adopt English as one of their official languages apart from their native dialects. Besides, more and more companies around the world require candidates to equip themselves with English language skills when hiring new employees. Hence, without being able to speak English, it would be very difficult to survive nowadays. To sum up, one's language is shaped by one's culture, while English language skills are required to thrive these days. For these reasons, the importance of preserving local languages should be stressed, while it is still necessary for everyone to acquire English skills.