Today, more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara Desert or the Antarctic. What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourist who visit such places?

There is a trend that an increasing number of tourists prefer to visit unfriendly tourist destinations such as the Sahara or the Antarctic. These visits often have more disadvantages than advantages. The most tangible advantage of this kind of risky journey is that it offers new attractions. To be precise, these locations have unique natural habitats which the other tourist venue do not have. To clarify it more, Antarctica has ice glaciers, polar bears, penguins, and seals, to name but a few; foreign nationals cannot see in other visit spots other than zoos. The other advantage is the new exposure. To be clearer, masses can experience and live in the unique habitat of extreme temperature, which they cannot experience in their local tourist places. The exorbitant cost is the prime demerit of risky journeys. To be clearer, it becomes a costly affair as special arrangements have to be made with the help of locals, or special aids have to be made available. For instance, special plane facilities are needed to land in the harsh areas, as this route is uncommon as well as special clothes are required in the places like Antarctica to withstand the cold weather conditions. The other disadvantage is the harsh weather which may make people sick. People might end up falling sick after a few days in extreme locations, in rare cases they might have to be evacuated from these locations. To conclude, though visiting places of harsh conditions offer people a unique experience, such journeys are challenging and risky and often end up in disasters.