In most countries, prison is an effective solution to the problem of crime. Some people think it is a more effective solution to provide a better education. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In most countries, prison is an effective solution to the problem of crime. Some people think it is a more effective solution to provide a better education. In my opinion, I believe that education can more effective solution than prison and I will explain my reason in the following paragraph. On the one hand, Penology theory in the past believes torturing a person in jail is an effective way to reduce crime and change the offender's behaviours. However, penologists nowadays do not agree with this concept. Sending offenders to prison in order to revenge cannot help prisoners change additude. Thailand has a statistic that 70% of drug and robbery prisoner was sent back to prison. In the worst case, They have a new bad friend in prison and after them was impunity. They commit again because it is easier to have money than to work in good moral careers. Moreover, criminal procedure in political cases in Thailand is worst than false imprisonment before a judge will sentence. To illustrate, More protestors from 2020 to 2021 in Thailand were sent to prison before being sentenced. It is the worst action that youth people who fight for better lives were imprisoned in jail by a judge under a dictatorship government. On the other hand, We found that most prisoners came from poor families and lacked the education to earn a living in future. Some prisoners are youth people who can not find a high salary career. Social conditions make them must be a robber or drug trafficker. Then, They were sent to jail after sentences. Accordingly, Having a high-quality education is the duty of the government to make teenagers have a better future. Then, I believe they are not interested in illegal activities. In conclusion, Crime is caused by poverty and lack of education. Sending offenders to jail cannot reduce problems and the jail will be overcrowded.