The best way to reduce traffic congestion in cities is to provide a free public transport service. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give your opinion and examples from your own experience.

The automobile industry has undergone a massive transformation and this has empowered individuals to own personal automobiles for commuting. While the initial notion of each individual owning a personal vehicle seemed to cater to the welfare of people, however, the growing number of cars on the road has led to unintended consequences. One by-product of this is traffic congestion being formed in cities. To begin with, some believe that, the best way to reduce jams in cities is to provide free public transit service. In other words, providing the facility to onboard public transport would encourage people to board these shared vehicles to save on fuel costs. In India, most travel mediums are using petrol nowadays, and the prices of petrol have skyrocketed and Indians would be more than willing to save up that cash for their financial security. Ultimately, this in turn reduces the transit on the road and reduces jams in urban areas. However, I believe that there is more to the issue of traffic congestion than simply providing free public transport services. While free public transportation may encourage some individuals to switch from personal vehicles to public conveyance. In many cities, public conveyance networks are either outdated or insufficiently developed to handle a large number of passengers. For example, In New York individuals are allowed to board buses for free, but overcrowding during peak hours is still a serious, non-solvable issue. Furthermore, some people would pick up their vehicles even when these transportation services are free, mainly due to the convenience provided by these private automobiles. In conclusion, I partially agree that making public automobiles free would result in less congestion on roads, however, this is not the best method to achieve the following goal due to issues such as overcrowding or personal choice.