It is generally accepted that exercise is good for children and teenagers. Therefore, physical education and sport should be compulsory for all students in all schools. What do you think?

Physical fitness is a major attribute in measuring one's health. Exercise is generally good for everyone, especially for children and adolescents, and the idea of making physical education mandatory at schools has been well received widely. I completely agree and this should be implemented at the earliest because it has several benefits. According to a study, a sedentary lifestyle is the number one cause of life-threatening diseases. Being inactive all day leads to obesity which reduces the function of the heart and lungs; worse, it causes irreversible damage to the heart proving to be fatal 90% of the time. For example, doing enough cardio workouts, like running, playing badminton and swimming, makes heart muscles stronger. Therefore, children should be trained to make exercise a part of their daily lives because long term training essentially becomes a habit for many. Additionally, physical exercises and sports are directly connected to one's mental health. While exercising, the brain releases hormones necessary to relieve stress. Since stress is commonly seen in adolescents, heavy activities could be a healthy way for them to manage stress. Sweating profusely after an hour of doing group workouts could be the best example here as it helps students to reduce their cortisol levels, and feel calmer. Furthermore, playing the sport can teach children to treat victory and defeat similar, as a part of life. Thus, involving children in physical education has great benefits. In conclusion, incorporating sports into the school curriculum paves the way to a healthier lifestyle. Sport does not only make one fit but also teaches valuable life lessons. And it helps to manage a teenager's mood swings by releasing happy hormones. Hence, physical education and sports should be made compulsory for all students right from their elementary education. The healthier the children the healthier society is.