Crime appears to be rising in most countries in the world, especially among young people. Identify the possible causes of this trend, and propose some solutions you think would be effective.

Crime rates are increasing in most countries around the world, especially among the youth. While there seem to be two major contributing factors to this issue, there are possible remedies that might help. There are various factors that lead people to commit crimes; however, unemployment might be one of the major ones. This is because when a person does not have a job, he would not be able to afford the basics of life, leading him to commit burglary. Examples of this can be seen in many developing countries, where the unemployment rate tends to be high. Another possible cause could be the stressful life that people in this modern world face, especially the young. This could result in mental distress and irrational behaviour. The recent school shootings in the USA, for instance, are committed by unstable teenagers who have gone rogue. In regards to possible solutions, the most obvious one is to provide more job opportunities. If the government could manage that, many people would lead a life free of financial stress, thus deterring them from crime. Another way to solve this problem, especially for adolescents, is to provide school and college counsellors who can help students with any problems that may affect their mental wellbeing. Finally, the government could limit the access of the public to dangerous weapons, like guns. If this was the case, many people would find it hard to commit crimes even if they have the motives. To sum up, there are many causes for the rising crime rates, some of which are the increasing unemployment and the stressful life many people live; nevertheless, it is the government's responsibility to provide more job opportunities and make it hard for the public to access weapons. Schools, also, could provide counsellors for their students.