Some people think that the best way to reduce the time spent in travelling to work is to replace parks and gardens close to the city center with apartment buildings for commuters, but others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In the recent era, there are residents who suggested occupying public entertaining spaces including playgrounds and gardens with residential buildings due to the increasing commuting time. While others are the opposite of this statement. I strongly disagree with this notion as amusement parks and gardens have a significant role in people's work-life balance. This essay will highlight both views. On the one hand, it is true that the commuters spend an extremely long moment on the way to work every day, hence shortening the travelling time is necessary. In that case, the idea of occupying the public area is understandable. This is because most of the botanic gardens and public places are usually located in central suburbs as well as most of the commercial offices in high rise properties. For example, In Bangaluru, the botanical gardens cover areas of ten thousand square meters right next to the commercial Business District. People of Bangaluru may spend less than ten minutes in their offices if they move to the botanical gardens. On the other hand, even though it seems effective to replace public areas with residential buildings, I do not agree with the suggestion because of two reasons. First and foremost, public areas are symbols of high quality of life because people's lives are not only full of work and careers, but entertainment is also important for people's life. With the destroying parks and gardens by the government, folks have no space to go for walk and exercise in their leisure time which leads to a lower quality of living. Secondly, greens in parks are the lungs of the city. For instance, air pollution has seriously influenced the health of human beings in urban areas since twenty century, including lung cancer and strep throat. Therefore, a reasonable amount of plants, carbon dioxide and other air polluted contaminants can be alleviated in urban fields. To conclude, although replacing public areas with residential buildings is a good idea to reduce the time for commuters, work-life balance has also more valued for a better quality of life. In my opinion, the government should not demolish the entertainment areas as most of the masses spend their spare time in parks and gardens.