For many, shopping malls are great places to spend their leisure time and meet others. People, however, in the past mostly visited those when necessary. To what extent do you think this is a negative trend?

In the modern world market complexes have become a place for socialising and relaxing. These malls are highly modernized and fulfilles fulfils the commodity and the service requirements of modern shoppers. Thus, people have turned this shopping experince into relishing the free time and reunions. On the other hand, several years back the shopping complexes were only visited when required. Although it is considered a negative trend, with the modernization of the society and people becoming very busy I think there is a positive effect for the society. Market complexes are equiped with many type of sevices and products for the moden day shoppers. Such as banks, groceries, resturants and a variety of outlets could be seen in malls. Additionally, they also have places for entertainment such as cinemas and children play areas. In the local scenario Kandy City Center is one of the best examples, where people from any ages visit and enjoy to fulfill their requirement. Furthermore, the indoor environment is not effected by the outside climate conditions when people are resticted with time. Therefore, this is considered as an ideal place for people to gather and spend some free time while fulfilling their needs. On the otherhand, several decades back malls were not diversified and it provided only a limited number of outlets for goods and services to the upper level society. Therefore, only a limited crowd visited as the price of goods and services were high and the general public could not afford. I can recall when Majestic City was opened in Colombo in the late 90s the best brand of cloths were available. Therefore, there was less crowd that visited the place, but now it has converted into a location that facilitates to all types of people. To conclude, it is certain that shopping complexes has changed dramatically over the past years and at present it has become a community hub where every one visits and meet each other. Therefore, my view is that eventhough people spend more time in malls it is an important location for socialization too.