Some feel that school uniforms make schools safer for students, create a "level playing field" that reduces socioeconomic disparities and encourage children to focus on their studies rather than their clothes. Others say school uniforms infringe upon students' right to express their individuality, have no positive effect on behaviour and academic achievement. Discuss both sides & give your opinion.

Countries have heterogenious heterogenous on whether students need to wear school uniforms or not. In the UK is compulsory whereas it is usually not in the US. In the forthcoming essay, I will explain why I am advocating wearing school uniforms. The most prominent reason to support standard uniforms in studying places is that, it reduces competition and comparison on the costumes pupils wear everyday. In a school, some students are more affluent than others and they are able to have different outlook every day in a month. They may even wear expensive branded clothing to attract attention. Not only does it hurt the confidence of those economically weaker students but it may even trigger their impoverished counterparts to take up a part- time job in order to catch up with the others. This is certainly very detrimental to the studying atmosphere in a school. Moreover, getting into a daily fashion show takes time in the morning and this can affect students ' sleep time and cause them to fall asleep during lessons. This may end up affecting students ' academic attainment as well. Some people may argue, banning street clothes in schools is blocking students ' right to express their personal preferences. I have to say the argument is going too far as young people still have other means to personalize themselves, such as different decorations hanging on their schoolbags, as well as diverse hairstyles. To be fair, in terms of time and monetary resources spent, the impact of different hairstyles creates a much less impact than school uniforms. Afterall, you just cannot change your hair everyday. In conclusion, the existence of compulsory school uniforms reduces the monetary resources and time spent by students, yet it does not necessarily reduce students ' right to express their personal liking too much. Thus, it is a beneficial policy to both students and schools.