In some countries people spend long hours at work. Why does this happen? Is it positive or negative development?

There is a tendency of working longer hours than usual in some countries in the world. Many reasons can be offered to explain this tendency, but clearly, it has negative impacts on people. I will discuss and analyse both of these points of view in detail in this essay First of all, it is argued that the main cause of people spending much of their time at the workplace is the fact. In modern times, there are many employees who believe that a dedicated worker is the one that works longer than anyone. For example, in Japan, workers, whatever jobs they have, usually work until 8 o’clock in the evening, when the average time to go home in the world is 5 in the afternoon, as a way to say that they are good employees. The second reason for this trend is as the world is developing more and more, more work has to be done. People don’t want to take this task back to their home, whilst they cannot leave it for the next day, so they chose to continue their already long hours at the office. As a result, this trend absolutely has a bad impact on people, especially on their health. Since workers have to spend more time on their work, they will have less time to take care of themselves. Staying late in the office often means workers have to eat fast food instead of a proper meal for dinner and have little time to come home and refresh for the next working day. Take Japan, for instance, they have the highest percentage of workers who died because of working overtime, which leads to low quality of health. This trend also affects the results of the work. Despite having to spend more time at work than the others, they usually do not work in their best condition, so their products will not have good quality, just like them. In conclusion, it is the belief and loads of work in the developing world that makes people take much of their time to work, and this definitely has negative impacts on workers ’ health and their products