Some people think that the increasing use of computers and mobile phones in communication has had negative effects on young people’s reading and writing skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The use of online communication has become incredibly popular among teenagers these days. Some individuals tend to believe that the upward trend in use of modern technology has had negative implications on young people’s reading and writing skills. In my point of view using computers and phones too much may sigificantly influence literacy skills of young genearations generation. This will be shown by illustrating how slang has influenced the young generations and typing as the major problem in today's world. To begin with, the slang is written in online communication more often than usual texting, due to this writing and reading skills on young people have been deteriorated in recent years. According, to research that has been made by Harvard university, the literacy skill of teenagers in 2022 is much worse, in comparison with teenagers in 2000. Consequently, slang and common use of it in communication devices can be a disastrous problem in the future. Secondly,those who type on the keyboard all the time might end up experiencing difficulties writing by hand. For example, a friend of mine who can type 70 - 80 words a minute on the computer are the slowest writer in his class and makes a lot of spelling mistakes. This means that he has lost his writing skills because of spending too much time typing and dedicating no time to practicing handwriting. In conclusion, use of communication devices affect the writing and reading skill of youngsters, especially that kind of aspects like slang and typing may influence incredibly bad in their literacy skills.