Despite improvements in vehicle technology, there are still large number of road accidents. Explain some of the causes of these accidents, and suggest some measures that could be taken to address the problem.

According to statistics, there are more car accidents occurred this year compared to the previous one. These occasions happening in spite of cutting edge technologies applied to the transports. There are various reasons causing these car crashes, such as low fines and high-speed limits in cities. This essay will provide several possible solutions to these problems. Firstly, penalties defined by the government are too low and easily paid by the vast majority. For instance, a person who was caught without a fastened seatbelt is charged only fifty dollars. It is obvious, that this amount of money cannot teach a lesson to the driver. Moreover, the fine will be forgotten just a couple of minutes after the payment. Therefore, increasing the level of finances charged for the breaking of rules might serve as a first -step warning to drivers. Secondly, the speed limits are too high considering the mass of a vehicle and crowds in cities, particularly in downtowns and megapolises. For example, an accelerated car is not capable of an instant stop. Consequently, there is less chance to avoid a crash even if the one is detected early enough. Thus, decreasing the upper limit of speed for all the vehicles might prevent a huge number of cases. Lastly, it is the responsibility of the government to build up awareness of the nation, especially on roads. There are some methods, such as placing warning banners for drivers or printing special landmarks for pedestrians. As an example, the experiment, conducted in Germany in 2010, displayed an increased level of focus among citizens when they were close to crossroads because they had been warned by signs around them. Hence, the local German gazette reports that the annual number of accidents are lowered significantly since then. In conclusion, despite being well developed, vehicles are still dangerous in some ways for the dwellers. However, the causes might be resolved by the authority and citizens themselves.