Some people think that secondary school should add international news as a subject; others think that it is a waste of valuable time. Discuss both views.

Despite some people believing that high schools need to include global news as a subject in their curriculum, other folks don't believe that such an approach can benefit the pupils. Both sides have pros and cons. To begin with, nowadays globalization is making the world smaller and information flows all over the planet. Moreover, we all need to filter the news to differentiate the fake ones from the real ones, but most importantly to invest our time more wisely in what to read and what we can skip. For instance, high schools could start to engage with students to teach them how to be involved in global changes every day and particularly to be able to sort out the everyday news quality-wise. However, it is clear why other parts of the society think that students in secondary schools might waste their time understanding specifics of international news, as it is still early to get them educated in this difficult subject. Furthermore, international news is a complex subject one needs really focus on, so it's better to do at universities with relevant study direction. For example, it's better to focus on the digital-related subjects for students which can benefit them in a higher amount and prepare them for their future life adventures. To sum up, both opinions have full right to coexist in the world, but as the whole educational system is being developed over years it is more likely that we can see international news as a separate subject for students in the secondary academies.