After being punished, many criminals continue to commit crimes. Why do some people commit crimes even after having been punished? What measures can be taken to tackle this problem.

Convicts around the world, face a difficult time adjusting to society after being released from prison. This forces most of them to commit various felonies and subsequently get arrested.Lack of education among the prisoners and the stigma toward criminals in society are the most important reasons for the given problem.Providing employment to the inmates of a jail sans their release and creating awareness among the people about accepting them can go a long way in solving the issue. Firstly,the main reason for a felon to commit a crime is a lack of education,so as to earn a decent living.Without an educational background,one would tend to steal or rob to feed his family. For instance,even after a person gets out of jail,he would be left with no other choice,but to commit another crime to survive in the world. Hence,the uneducated are more prone to commit crimes even after they are punished. Secondly,the judgement around a person who has been in unlawful activity in spite of repenting is devastating. Society continues to doubt and mistreat a person,let alone embrace him with open arms,for his past,preventing him to be a normal citizen again. For example,government jobs are not given to persons who have a history of illegal activity,which leads them to go back to their old habits. Government can provide various solutions to educate the inmates of a cell and abolish the stigma toward ex-convicts. To begin with,an in-house university education system can improve the opportunities of many people for employment upon their re-introduction to the society. This way,they can have the scholarly requirement for a skilful job. Furthermore,ethical background checks for a job can be limited based on their behaviour at work and awareness can be created among fellow colleagues in the workplace, to keep discrimination at bay. To summarise,it is unfortunate that people continue to get themselves in unlawful situations in spite of the consequences.Inadequate education and inappropriate behaviour by others can be crucial in this case. Therefore,literacy and acceptance of such people can go a long way in reducing the number of crimes in the future.