The growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops in towns and cities closing. Do you agree or disagree.

Modern technology has enhanced the marketing industry to a new dimension throughout the world. Therefore, buying products from the internet is convenient and accessible to people at all levels of the society. To cater to the requirement shopping outlets, such as groceries in towns and large multinational retailers have embraced online selling. With the rapid expansion of web shopping, it will lead to the closure of boutiques in towns and cities, and I agree with the above suggestion. The world wide web has spread to all service industries in the world, and it plays a key role in online shopping. This has been done by developing various selling software platforms, where anyone has the opportunity to upload their products and sell online. One of the best examples is the Alibaba website, which sells millions of products from around the world to anyone. Therefore, many small scale retailers utilizing the platform started small and has become large business vendors. Furthermore, online shops does not require a physical outlet for buyers to visit and venders to sell products. Therefore, many small-time businesspeople do not have to spend money on maintaining an outlet. For example, “Daraz”, has become a highly sought after website to purchase a variety of products in Sri Lanka thus they do not maintain any out lets or stores. As the products are purchased directly the requirement of a store has diminished. In conclusion, it is certain web shopping will be the most common method of ordering goods in the future. With the technological advancements anything will be available at a touch of a screen and there will be no requirement for outlets. Therefore, I agree that buying goods online will expand widely and lead to the closure of shops in towns and cities.