Some people believe that the best way of learning about life is by listening to the advice of family and friends. Other people believe that the best way of learning about life is through personal experience. Compare the advantages of these two different ways of learning about life. Which do you think is preferable? New specific examples to support your preference.

Life teaches us valuable lessons all the time. Many people assume that the most effective way to learn about life is through contemplating their friends' and family's experiences. However, others believe one can learn about life effectively by experiencing it by oneself. Both ways have their advantages and people could prefer one as per their preference; I prefer my personal experience. By listening to social circle’s advice, one can refrain from making the same mistakes that one ’s friend or a relative made because a person could learn about the negative consequences of their decision; and one could make a better judgment of their circumstances. For example, a friend’s bitter experience with a few people could serve as a warning for one before making acquaintances with them. Furthermore, people could learn about life without putting themselves in a challenging position. On the contrary, everyone's experience is dissimilar as everyone's perspective varies as per their thought pattern. This is because people are brought up in different environments. For an instance, a relative could have a conflict with an extended family member but one could have a nice relationship with that family member as they share the same traits. So, it is not necessary that people may have similar outcomes in their lives. When a person acquires knowledge of life through one's own experience, they tend to have a broader view of life. To conclude, people can learn from their own experiences or others’ experiences; both teach one to decide better. Even though learning from friends’ advice helps us, they put us on the same path as theirs; it is mundane. Hence, taking lessons from personal experiences is preferable as it is unique to everyone and teaches one efficiently.