More and more businesses, as well as individuals, are choosing to communicate either professionally or socially using technology rather than being face to face. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of using technology for communicating

In modern society, the mode of communication for corporates and individuals has gradually shifted from meeting physically in real life to communicating digitally. In this essay, I will discuss the benefits and negative outcomes of utilizing technology to communicate. Firstly, using technology to discuss matters in companies would allow more time to process the information rather than having to give an instantaneous response. People often make mistakes or miscommunicate if they give a solution without thorough consideration. Thus, communicating through media such as electronic mail would allow individuals to give a well-thought answer. Secondly, it is more convenient to chat with others in our own comfort space. For example, friends or families can contact each other while staying in their own homes, rather than organizing a date or time to meet up with each other. Hence, it is more comfortable to use social media to interact with people. On the other hand, meeting in real life is critical when there is an emergency crisis that requires a quick response. For example, a hacker who has stolen valuable information from the company would require an urgent meeting with all the heads of departments physically. This would allow them to discuss with each other and come out with a solution to retrieve the information as soon as possible. Henceforth, using an online platform for urgent matters is not suitable as it takes too much time to receive a reply. Moreover, the prolonged use of social media would cause people to drift apart from one another. This is because there are no physical touches or gestures on the Internet, which is an important factor to connect people intimately. In conclusion, technology provides an alternative way of communication for enterprises and individuals, but we should not rely solely on the Internet as there are situations where physical presence is crucial.