Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past 30 years that many cities in the world are now “one big traffic jam”. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can government take to discourage people from using their cars?

Car ownership has significantly increased so over the past 30 years and many cities in the world are now confronted with big traffic jam problems. In my opinion, I could not agree more with this statement and I will explain a factor and solution for this case. On the one hand, It is clearly shown that people from the countryside escape poor conditions life to the cities. It was affected that cities are crowded with people. Moreover, The economic cities in the region such as New York, Paris and Bangkok have labour from developing countries who went to find a career. Accordingly, It makes big traffic jam problems. Moreover, In the past, Some governments had a mistaken policy to support citizens having a private cars. For example, in Bangkok in the 1990s was cancelled tram line because the government think the tram reduced surface roads but truly the tram is public transport which can reduce the number of cars. On the other hand, To solve this problem, Firstly, The government should improve service quality in public transport. For example, buses must have air-conditioned and have accurate time because passengers can plan a time for doing activities by using public transport. Secondly, The government should gain high car taxes or oil prices to reduce the number of cars. However, The government must finish the first stages already. Thirdly, The government should plan to construct a metro from suburban to downtown. In conclusion, I firmly believe that cars have increased over the past 30 years. So, The government should solve problems as I make an example in the third paragraph