It is often thought that the increase in juvenile crime can be attributed to violence in the media. Do you think it is the reason for the growth in the rate of juvenile crime? What solutions can you offer to deal with this situation?

Violence in the media is often considered the main reason for the increased crime rate in the youth. I completely agree with this. In my opinion, this situation can be reversed by regulating the content shown on the internet and television. I will discuss and analyse this in detail in this essay. To begin with, violence is ubiquitous on the media these days which is a significant reason of rise in the juvenile crime. For instance, children play fighting computers games and watch movies based on money laundering, robbery and other crime scenes. They see abuse and murders everyday on the media which render them tolerant to these things. Ultimately, the young generation incorporates these immoral activities in their lives. For example, some children enjoy bullying their peers in schools, and select violence as a career option as they believe that criminals can be the highest achievers and afford a lavish life style. Therefore, they consider defendants as heros and follow them in real life. However, it is the prime responsibility of the government of a nation to censor the broadcasted content to decrease the juvenile crime. For example, the state can make it mandatory for the cyber crime department to regulate the programmes on TV and online media. This will only produce content which is totally suitable for the youngsters. Hence, it will prevent them commiting criminal activities in their future life since it will reduce their exposure to violence. In conclusion, display of violence in the media is negatively affecting youth nowadays. I, therefore, believe that juvenile crime can be mitigated by reducing violent programmes.