Today, many young people spend too much of their free time at shopping malls. This can be considered negative for young people and society generally. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

A part of the community contends about the negative influence of malls to society, especially in youngters' lives, as they are spending too much of their spare time in there. The paragraphs below will outline a partial disagreement toward this trend explaining that these centers makes it easy for family and friends to meet and increase the cycle of interpersonal relationships, but, on the other hand, do not provide productive activities. To begin with, the main reason why I do not consider that the youth spending too much time in shopping centers represents a trouble is because malls can please all opinions and gather family and friends in the same environment. For instance, my older brother cannot stand football games, so it is impossible to visit a stadium with all my family or at least make it completely enjoyable for everyone. However, a mall opens up the possibility for everyone to do something they like. Furthermore, another cogent motive to justify why I do not believe that youngsters enjoying their whole leisure time in malls is somehow noxious is the role these centers play in introducing new faces to others. More specifically, as a place that have a myriad of collective entertainment businesses, such as bowling, cinema, and bookstores, it encourages individuals to make friends with strangers just by having similar interests. Therefore, it increases the chances of meeting new people and developing a lifelong relationship just by crossing one another. In stark contrast, some argue that malls can harm the society as it do not provide productive activities and would only be for entertainment, creating a lack of responsibility in these juveniles who are still developing. Despite being an ally to encourage the community to develop social skills and having facilities to help reading and working, such as shared workrooms and libraries, it can also be very distractive by presenting many sources of distractions. To conclude, I somehow disagree that shopping centers are impacting negatively the youth and society since it allows families and friends to enjoy each other's company as well as to meet new people. Besides, if individuals use these venues only for entertainment, then it could be a waste of potential.