Today, many young people spend too much of their free time at shopping malls. This can be considered negative for young people and society generally. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

A part of the community contends about the negative influence of malls on society, especially in youngters' lives, as they are spending too much of their spare time there. The paragraphs below will outline a complete disagreement toward this trend explaining that these centres make it easy to make new friends, increase the cycle of interpersonal relationships, and encourage people to work and study. To begin with, the main reason why I do not consider that the youth spending too much time in shopping centres represents trouble is that malls can please all opinions and introduce new friends in the same environment. For instance, as a place that has a myriad of collective entertainment businesses, such as bowling, theatres, and clothing stores, it encourages each individual to do something they like, and possibly meet a stranger with similar interests. Therefore, it opens up the possibility for everyone to do something enjoyable and increases the chances of developing a lifelong relationship with an unknown person just by walking by or waiting in the same line. Furthermore, another cogent motive to justify why I do not believe that youngsters enjoying their whole leisure time in shopping areas is somehow noxious is due to the multi-options of activities that it offers to the community. To illustrate, despite being an ally to encourage juveniles to develop social skills, it also provides shared workrooms, libraries and print shops, allowing individuals to work, study and develop ideas. Many young people prefer to study in these facilities than at home owing to the structure and ambience it offers. To conclude, I strongly disagree that shopping centres are impacting negatively the youth and society since it allows families and friends to enjoy each other's company, to meet new people and to study and work if it is their desire. Thus, malls provide entertainment and the possibility to concentrate on important labour activities.