A tax haven is a place with extremely low tax rates. The rationale is that rich people and businesses can choose where to pay tax, so they are attracted to places with the lowest tax rates. As a result, the tax havens receive tax income that would otherwise go to other countries. Tax havens are good for both taxpayers and for the people of the tax havens. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

I disagree that tax havens are good for the taxpayers but I do agree it's good for the people who live in these tax havens. In our modern capitalist society, most governments provide all the infrastructure and a lot of services for their citizens which requires taxes to fund. Everything from road construction and maintenance to the legal system, government employees and healthcare, etc. All of this is paid by taxes and it's an integral part of how the world operates. When a company goes to a tax haven, it is not only taking their money out of the country they are operating in, but also maintaining a practice that damages competition. The benefits of the tax haven are good for the corporation itself to save money, but that money ends up sitting in an account in a foreign country. The company is essentially using the benefits provided by the country in which they are established, reaping huge benefits financially, and then not offering to contribute by avoiding taxes. For the people of the tax haven, it's a good thing as it brings more job opportunities and more money to the country, improving the quality of life in the short term. But what happens is that this policy of minimum taxes is unsustainable and, when the tax havens learn it the hard way, they will have to increase taxes leading all the companies they attracted away, making it more likely for them to go into recession. In conclusion, tax havens can be seen as a good solution in the short term, but I believe there are more benefits for society and the economy as a whole when companies are not allowed to utilise and abuse tax - havens