In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary forgovernments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disgaree with this opinion ?

In the modern world people move through the day at a fast pace and a quick meal is consumed to replenish their hunger. Due to this, more and more people in society suffer from health issues after consuming pre-cooked meals. As a mode of control, the regulatory authorities can impose higher levies on these types of food to control consumption which I agree with, and the following essay will discuss how it can be implemented. Across the globe, restaurants have changed their serving patterns as fast food has overtaken the eating habits of civilians. These types of foods have higher sugar and cholesterol levels, which are injurious to human health if consumed frequently. Besides, it is the causal factor for diabetes and high blood pressure, more over this could escalate other health conditions in the human body. A study done by the East England Medical University shows that the incidents of unhealthy cases in high school students decreased by 15% when they stopped serving fast food in the canteens. Furthermore, considering the above situation people as individuals and the government can take precautionary measures to control the consumption of a fast meals. As a nation the rulers can implement policies and taxation on high sugar and high cholesterol meals. This will motivate individuals to consume alternative cuisines and drinks at a lesser cost. For example, by imposing a Value Tax on bottled soda the prices of a unit increased by 20%, thereby consumers changed their drinking pattern to coconut water, which increased the sales by 15% in townships. To conclude, it is obvious that the consumption of unhealthy quick snacks is increasing in many nations, creating well-being issues in the community. In order to the government this the governments should execute taxation on these types of meals. Therefore, I agree that by imposing regulatory implications this eating habit could be controlled.