Some people think that social networking sites have a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, social media becomes more and more important in our daily life, and some people believe that these social networking applications bring a massive bad impact on both people and society. I agree that social media has some negative influences, but they also have some advantages to human life. On the one hand, recently, most people have more than one social networking application on their mobile phones and tablets, and the time people spend on those social websites has increased significantly than before. This situation means many people may waste their time on unnecessary social activities on the Internet and not spend enough time improving themselves, such as studying or exercising. Moreover, social media can impact people ’s minds. For example, many celebrities usually post their skinny bodies or luxurious lives on Internet, and these pictures and videos encourage people to pursue unhealthy lives or have incorrect attitudes about money. If many people waste time and have wrong attitudes about their lives due to social media, it will become a social problem in the future. However, social networking sites still bring our life many advantages. For example, when we lose contact with our old friends, we can use social media to find them. Additionally, social networking sites let us know people who have different lives from us and enhance our knowledge about this world. In conclusion, I think that the overuse of social networking sites in daily life is harmful to people and society. Nevertheless, if we use them correctly and control the time we spend, these applications and websites are beneficial.