Some people think governments should spend money on measures to save languages with few speakers from dying out completely. Others think this is a waste of financial resources. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People hold contrasting opinions in terms of whether the government should invest in protection of minority language. For my part, while there might be arguments supporting that it is wasteful to protect them, I tend to believe this action can be more beneficial for us. On the one hand, I think the government should try to preserve the languages that are not widely spoken. A language has a vital connection with the cultural identity of people who are speak it. In this sense, if one minority language disappears due to the lack of concerns, the distinctive ways of life which associated with it will go extinct. Take China as an example, with the popularity of the mandarin, the minorities who live in the mountain for generations have to give up their dialect to have access to acquire education. As a consequence, thousands of minority languages and villages have vanished over the past few decades as the culture came to an end. On the other hand, it can be argued that it is pointless to save these dialects. It is better for different races of people to speak the same language, as it will facilitate the communication and understanding. In view of this, the administration can save expenditure on minority management as it is not a progressive effort, and mitigate the language barriers of the nation. However, I think it will create a sad world, in which dominant cultural values force the minorities who will realize them struggling to find themselves. To conclude, I reckon that the government should concern and spend money on this issue, which can lead to the innovation and prosperity.