Today more people put personal and private information online to do everyday activities such as banking, shopping and socializing. Is this a positive or negative development?

Now there is a prevailing trend of migrating personal information to the internet. In my opinion, despite some downsides related to cloud services, there are actually more benefits to be gained from this. On one hand, people generally face some downsides. One drawback would be that the databases which store the data are not 100% secure. As a consequence, personal information which is held on the internet may be stolen or misused in some ways by cybercriminals, which causes not only property loss to clients but also reputation damage to the company. Another disadvantage is that online users are usually under considerable eye strain when using these, due to managing their bank accounts, shopping on Amazon and keeping in contact with colleagues and so on. Therefore, people are prone to experience an increase in time of watching screens and suffer from eye disease. On the other hand, I believe that online services can have access to more benefits. The first advantage of updating online personal information is that it allows the customer to have more opportunities to earn money. Take the bank as an example, having the information registered on the networking, the banking platform can utilize the advanced recommendation system to derive suitable products for customers, providing various chances for customers to gain profits. On top of that, customers can make more comfortable online purchases by putting their data on the platform. They may avoid time-consuming change-finding phases because their identification and payment methods have been linked since their first registration. As a result, the shopping is sped up. To conclude, although the customer may suffer from some risks like online fraud, storing information online is an inevitable trend and we will acquire more convenience.