Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Hard to determine the impact of advertisements on today's consumption habits. The two points of view are sensible and both apply. Either if promotion is really effective or it has become very mundane that it does not have much influence as before. From a personal perspective and through my observation, I can see that advertisements are still very powerful tools. However, in a different way than the typical commercials' on TV. Traditional announcements are no longer appealing and we are exposed daily to several ways of promotions. For example, the offers brochures that the supermarkets distribute, somehow can affect what people think about their needs, and deceive them in some way to re-prioritise their purchases. Other examples of different marketing means are Instagram and youtube displays. As a female, I see that beauty services presented constantly on social media attract a large sector of females to them. No doubt that the beauty industry has flourished massively lately and, it is really a smart way to address human desires and instincts. Moreover, internet marketing allows lots of people to buy more when they are faced with more products appearing on their Facebook pages on daily basis. Personally, my mother's consumption habits have changed since she retired and had to spend much time at home browsing through social media, and with the extreme facilities in delivering the products that any manufacturer- all over the world- now provides. On the other hand, the availability of numerous goods everywhere, makes people really adjusted to the idea, that nothing is special which in turn makes them more resistant to the influence of marketing and they do not purchase beyond their real needs. I would agree with this, however, in my opinion, this applies more to the traditional commercials on TV or Radio stations, as nowadays we are, surrounded by different means of product promotion ideas and extraordinary tools that can change our life or at least that is what we think. In brief, I am more inclined to the idea that advertisements still play a role in the market,especially in today's open market all over the globe, where you can purchase any product from anywhere by pressing a few buttons.