Many cities have installed cameras in public places in order to reduce crime. However, some people think that those cameras restrict our privacy. Do you think the advantages of this system outweigh the disadvantages?

Whilst some argue that surveillance in public places are an invasion of privacy, others believe that it helps to reduce and prevent crimes. This essay will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of surveillance methodes such as CCTV. In my opnion, the benefits drastically outweigh the drawbacks. On the one hand, security cameras help to prevent and solve crimes. Firstly, they act as a deterrent for criminals, since the crime will be recorded. Thus, reducing the chance of a crime being commited. Secondly, if a crime still occures it is relatively easy for the police to track down the criminal. In addition, the use of cameras in public places has shown to be extremely effective in decreasing criminal activity. For instance, in Singapore almost all public places have security cameras, which has reduced crime rates to almost zero. On the other hand, some consider security cameras to be an invasion of their privacy. Many do not like the idea of being constantly watched. Protection and security is a vital component of these cameras. However, sometimes these lead to disgraceful controversies. For instance, in the professional world many employees have complained about their privacy being monitored constantly. In summary, the benefits of security cameras significantly outweigh the drawbacks. Neverthless, ethically this topic can be a very slipperly slope.