University students often focus on one subject. However some people think that universities should encourage a range of other subjects. To what extent do you agree?

In a highly competitive world, it is popular among graduates to pursue a single subject. On the other hand, there are many who are of the opinion that educational institutions should motivate pupils to incorporate several topics. Ingressing the wide and divergent world of knowledge becomes possible when students include multiple areas of study. Furthermore, rather than restricting one's course to an individual topic, a well-structured course focusing on various disciplines would undoubtedly increase the momentum to advancement in career. From this perspective, I certainly agree with the statement. Students often restrain learning to a unitary academic domain owing to their inability to grasp diversified information. Many are of the notion that a number of subjects can be difficult to study taking into consideration a greater academic burden involved. In addition, a lacking of funding to integrate multiple branches of study. As a consequence, graduates choose to pursue a single subject which can result in professional underachievement. The foundation to attain professional and academic competency begins with acquiring adequate information about one's field of study. A dearth of professional knowledge is often the outcome of limiting learning to one specific subject. For instance, a physician can move ahead to gain a specialization only once he has a general medicine degree, which sets the platform for a multidisciplinary interaction which is not possible without a generalized medical training. Consequently, in addition to enhancing career development, widening the limits of learning will definitely be a boost to understanding the intriguing world around us. In conclusion, considering the wider scope in developing greater progress personally as well as in one's career, it is definitely better to encourage students to follow more than one discipline of research.