FILM STARS AND CELEBRITIES ARE OFTEN SHARE THEIR VIEWS ON PUBLIC MATTERS THAT HAVE LITTLE TO DO WITH THEIR PROFESSION IS IT A POSITIVE OR NAGATIVE DEVELOPMENT?

It is commonly seen that many cinema and sports stars usually share their opinions on social problems with which they do not have any concern. However, there are certain positives of this development, I believe that it has far more negatives. To begin with the positives of sharing views on public issues. Celebrities, indeed, an important part of society who have a great impact on their followers. They can positively influence their fans and make them aware about any societal problems, in this way, they can assist to eradicate social problems. For instance, Bollywood star Akshay Kumar is renowned for his social awareness campaigns such as his movie Toilet-Ek prem katha was a sarcastic comedy which was a great support for Indian state’s movement Swach Bharat Abhiyan. Consequently, celebrities are the one who can lead a society on the path of positivity and prosperity. Despite the above mentioned positives, it has certain dismal consequences on both society and stars. First and foremost, if these stars share their opinions publically without exactly knowing the matter, the situation may go worse. This is because it leads to the young people who are blind followers on the wrong path and mislead them. This may result in some serious repercussions such as incite the violence and riots. Secondly, this kind of statements can also spoil the public image of a star and can have a negative impact on their stardom. Kangna Ranuat, for example, gave many controversial statements for the farmer protester few months ago, that created a negative image of this filmy actress and she had to face a huge criticism for this. In conclusion, although awaking public about social issues is a moral responsibility of the stars as they are role model and the source of inspiration for many yet I believe if they make these public statements only for controversy, it has adverse effects on society.