Many developing countries are currently expanding their tourism industries. Why is this the case? Is it a positive or negative development?

In today's modern society, people have raised their living standards by enjoying many experiences in life. As a result, the demand for travelling triggers the tourism industry growth in many countries which are developing. Therefore, this essay will discuss the reasons and some positive aspects accompanied by negative ones. There are two main reasons why there is a steep growth in this field. First of all, tourism is one of the best ways to increase the income of that country. Thank to many activities visitors have participated in such as renting hotels, eating, purchasing souvenirs, etc, local citizens have a chance to earn their living and gain some benefits. Moreover, travelling will help these countries push out their reputations all over the world. Ha Long Bay, for example, a breathtakingly beautiful natural landscape which was rewarded by UNESCO helps the fames of Vietnam cross the ocean, attracting more and more travellers coming to see this wonder with their own eyes. Despite the merits of tourism, there are some drawbacks that should be addressed. To begin with, the more people visit, the more polluted that area is. Dalat city, for instance, used to have a clean public square which is now filled with a ton of garbage after some special attractive events and occasions such as the Flowers Festival or even weekends. In addition, tourism directly affects the natural habitat as well. To burgeon the tourism rate, many amenities which are served human demands are builts, demolishing animal species' homeland. In conclusion, the growth of the tourism industry will more or less bring many benefits to developing countries, however, there are some ongoing drawbacks that these governments should rectify to have a substantial improvement.