Some people say that the only reason for learning foreign language is in order to travel for work in a foreign country others say that those are not the only reason why someone should learn a foreign language

Some individuals opine that foreign languages are learned solely for work purposes. However, I believe that other languages can be learned in other to improve brain functions and also to have in-depth knowledge about other cultures. To start with, it is undeniable that being bilingual can help in career advancement. As more companies trade internationally and create relationships with other nations, language skills can be a career gift. Being able to speak, explain and negotiate in another language makes job seekers more employable, increases their self-confidence, and can also lead to a higher salary. For instance, the present Managing Director of Coca-Cola beverage company in Thailand is an African named Bolaji Idowu. He revealed in an interview that he was the only one amongst the selected candidates that could speak Siamese which is the official language spoken in Thailand and that automatically got him the job. Therefore, being multi-lingual is professionally beneficial to job seekers. However, I am of the opinion that there are a plethora of reasons why people can be bilingual. Firstly, learning multiple languages improves brain functionality. The language center in the brain is so flexible and learning a second language can develop new areas of the mind and also strengthen the brains natural ability to focus, entertain multiple possibilities as well as process information swiftly. Researchers found that young adults who are proficient in two languages performed better on attention tests and had better concentration than those who spoke only one language. Furthermore, being multi-lingual enable people to have deep knowledge of other cultures and traditions. A huge reason for cultural stereotypes and prejudice is the lack of understanding between people of different cultures therefore language learning can inspire solidarity, tolerance and understanding of how people behave, dress, speak and act the way they do. In conclusion, even though being bilingual gives room for career growth and development, I believe that there are other important reasons individuals learn multiple languages such as brain development and to have knowledge about other cultures.