Plagiarism in all kinds of writing is becoming more frequent. Why is this happening? What should be done to solve the problem?

Plagiarism is more and more rampant in the school setting. Some people attribute this problem to the evolving digital technology while others believe such misbehaves the result of the growing pressure upon the young generation. In this essay, I will explain the reason for the increasing number of plagiarism practices and their solutions. Admittedly, the development of digital technology is the main culprit of cheating behaviours. People who are aiming for better academic results with inappropriate approaches will resort to digital devices since it is becoming more intelligent and easy to carry with. For instance, smart watches and AirPods enable people to surf the internet and communicate more secretively with their small screens. Many dishonest students decided to utilise the loophole by sneaking into venues with these smart devices. This a persistent phenomenon unless examiners can come up with practical solutions to curb the use of digital devices during the exams. To solve this problem, there are a couple of actions to take. Firstly, examination centres are highly recommended to adopt and install digital device detecters. Participants will be required to undergo security examinations before they enter examination venues. Such a strategy can effectively deter candidates carry smart devices with them. Secondly, instructions should be provided to examination attendants in a clear way. At the same time, penalties should be highlighted and warnings should be given to offenders. It is necessary to conduct a zero-tolerance tolerance policy towards plagiarism behaviours. In conclusion, I believe the growing number of cheating behaviours are the result of smart portable devices. Security checks and reading examination guidelines in front of participants are approaches to take to combat plagiarism.