Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a forerign language in primary school rather than secondary school do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

A few skilled person's argue it is more beneficial to learn a new language in elementary school instead of high school. This agrees that the drawbacks of been taught another language supercedes the benefit with reasons that would be explained in following paragraphs. To begin, starting off foreign language in primary school would be cumbersome. This is because there are other complex core subjects such as mathematics,science, health education they are learning at this stage, therefore including another subject would result in poor academic performance. In addition,some pupils might develop phonological interference in the process and slow down their speech.The reason is at this stage,they are trying to speak their mother tongue flawlessly.These pupils ends up mixing up pronunciation of words. for example a neighbor's child is mixes up the pronunciation of words like lice for rice, piver liver for fever. Hence it is necessary it is included to the secondary curriculum. However, during this age and stage in the development of a child,the brain is very much receptive to learn new things and a second language is not excluded. Infact in elementary school their interest for learning is at its peak. For instance, in Nigeria recently most private schools included french language to their academic scheme and before their graduation they are able to speak french fluently. As a result they can easily communicate with french speaking individual. In conclusion, i believe that the demerits of teaching a second language in elementary school superpasses super passes the merits, thus it should be discouraged.