Some people think that couples should live together before getting married to start knowing each other better and see if they are compatible. Others say that because of this tendency people become immoral and only deep emotional attachment makes a durable alliance. What is your opinion?

In recent times, the idea of cohabitation by partners before marriage have become an issue of wide spread concern. While some people believe that this approach promotes compatibility discovery, others are of the opinion that it encourages immorality and weak bond. I agree with the later view because of some reasons such as: Living together does not create room for building strong emotional connections, it promotes the spread of STIs/ HIV and also it encourages immoral practice in the society. Firstly, when Lovers Cohabits before their marriage they may not have the ample opportunity to build strong intimacy which is required for a lasting marriage. In other words, living together before marriage increases the chances of early divorce and this could be attributed to the fact that quality relationships and friendship is better built when people are living apart because over familiarity breeds contempt. A survey done in Nigeria has revealed that the chances of divorce is higher among couples that Cohabited before they got married also another negative effect of living together before marriage is that it promotes immorality. This means that when the opposite sex stays together in a house, they most likely may engage in premarital sex which is one of the social vices in the society so it is better they live apart until they are officially wedded. Moreover, this practice can promote the spread of sexually transmitted diseases and HIV as most people rarely go for medical test and investigations once they start living together and may not also be able to practice safe sex. This implies that the spread of sexual transmitted disease may be notably high among Cohabiting couples and the evidence could be seen in surveys which stated that these disease spread is more among partners which cohabited before marriage. In conclusion, though some people believe that the act of living together of couples before their official wedding encourages compatibility discovery, I am of the opinion that cohabitation does not give room for building strong intimacy hence divorce is inevitable, it also promotes immoral practice in the society and could as well lead to increase in the spread of HIV and other sexually transmitted diseases and so should be discouraged.