The number of children that read books for fun has dropped dramatically in recent years. What are the reason for this? How can we encourage children to read more?

Due to the development of technology nowadays, a great number of children tend to spend most of their time using electronic devices which can lead to the decline of the number of those reading books for the purpose of entertainment. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons for this serious issue as well as the way to tackle this. To begin with, there are two major reasons for children to use up-to-date devices instead of reading books. First and foremost, parents cannot afford enough time to create reading time with their children. In other words, parents need to work extra hours in order to make ends meet so that they are not patient and have no time enough to choose the books and read to their children. Moreover, it is clear that a variety of child-oriented channels that can attract children's attention are available on social platforms. For example, a channel like youtube has a different number of interesting videos for variable age groups. Those videos can definitely overwhelm the children more than books as books are normally more outdated than the clips and films on social websites. On the other that, the group of people, especially parents and teachers are able to help the children read more books instead of spending their time on social media. The way that the parents help their children is that they have to make sure to give reading moments to their children no matter how busy they are, which means that they at least read bedtime stories to their children every night. As for the teachers, they ought to prioritize the reading hours than giving lectures and taking them to the school library instead of the multimedia classroom. In conclusion, it is undeniable that the updated devices grab the young children's attention so much that they are likely to ignore the books, their real friends. In my opinion, I suppose that obsession can be cured with the help of people especially teachers and students in their environment.