Some people get into debt by buying things they don’t need and can’t afford. What are the reasons for this behaviour? What actions can be taken to prevent people from having this problem?

Although noticing that certain products are unaffordable and unnecessary, some people are still constantly purchasing them, which eventually brings them on the verge of financial plight. In this essay, I will illustrate the mechanism of such behaviours and outline two measures that can prevent individuals from falling into the trap of debt. Unreasonable purchasing can be attributable to brain malfunctioning. Research and observations have been universally conducted on those candidates, who found that their electrical waves in the brain are different from the others. Their frontal lobe, which oversees one’s logic, is malfunctioning. Thus, malfunction of the brain can amplify those irrational behaviours. Another reason for this problem is the mood of our society. Nowadays, businesspeople often encourage customers to purchase as many items as possible, regardless of their abilities and needs. Bringing out the consequence of creating considerable numbers of debt. Blindly following the instructions from a company can severely damage one's budget. There are substantial measures the public can take as treatments. In my experience, avoiding using credit cards is a good way to prevent unnecessary purchases. Since the operation of credit cards is based on mutual trust between banks and individual card users, such trust can be extremely vulnerable if the users are not able to keep their promises of payment in due course. Furthermore, if the debt situation is too serious, in my opinion, credit card cancellation might be necessary. Hence, if someone does not own one to use, they can be warned when they are out of cash to use. On the other hand, debts can also be avoided through such measures. In conclusion, a win-win situation can be created in this way. Above all, we can acknowledge those symptoms are caused by mental illness. Nevertheless, the good news is that it is not incurable. By receiving appropriate treatments, I sincerely believe those populations can establish a principle of moderate shopping.