There are many different types of music in the world today. Why do we need music? Is the traditional music of a country more important than the international music that is heard everywhere.

Nowadays, different genre of music existed Globally and has played an important role in our life. Some people are of the opinion that local music of a nation is more essential when compared with western music that is being heard all over and I totally agree with this notion as it propagates culture and maintain the history of a country. On one hand, music is being defined by some scholars as a medicine to the soul. It plays an important role in relaxing the mind and can also be used treat depression. For example,a schizophrenic patient that suffers from depression was given a temporary relief from his ailment as he shows a signs of being elevated in his mood after listening to music according to research carried out by undergraduates students in pneurosychiatric hospital Nawfia. Furthermore, music serves as a diversional therapy for a patient or a person that is experiencing excruciating pain, during listening to music,the nerves are calmed thereby taking away the feeling of pain momentarily. Moreover, the history of a country can also be maintained through music, because it never dies. Any information that was passed through music,tends to live on likewise the history of the country, when it is propagated through music. To conclude, although has played an important role in our lives,I believe that local music are more beneficial when compared to western music.