Some believe it is important for cities and towns to invest heavily in building large outdoor public spaces. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the increasing population in cities and towns, many countries are now building numerous outdoor places for the society. Many people think that it is essential for urban areas around the globe to invest immensely in creating huge outdoor spaces for the population. In my opinion, it indeed is crucial to invest in it though I wouldn’t say heavily, but a moderate amount that is sufficient for the surroundings and the people. This essay will explicate the reasons we need to spend on exterior public spaces and why making a heavy investment is not necessary. To begin with, due to the high population in cities, many people live in small apartments with no garden spaces which is becoming the cause of many health diseases. In addition to that, more the population leads to more air pollution degrading the environment. Due to this, it is important to build outdoor spaces like community parks, and recreational spaces where people can experience fresh air, meet the community and participate in various amusement activities. Although investment in outdoor areas is essential, spending an enormous amount is unnecessary instead, a sensible amount that benefits living beings and the environment should be used. For example, building a huge water fountain can be replaced with a pond. The fountain would cost a lot of money and waste water while a pond will help to maintain the natural habitat for many birds. So while building social outdoor spaces, it is not necessary to invest heavily in things that don’t bring any good but just the right amount that fulfils the purpose. To summarize, it is of utmost importance to build large outdoor community parks for cities and towns to maintain a good quality of life for their residents and a healthy environment. However, it can be done with a moderate amount of money and resources if used wisely.