In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

In other countries, being a house owner is more essential to some people than being a tenant. As much as owning a house gives a feeling of ownership and belonging, in my opinion, I believe this is a positive trend because possessing a residence creates a community tie, and ensures privacy and a great investment plan. To begin with, acquiring a house comes with a sense of ownership and belonging. As it is called, 'home', people would love to have a place of abode where they can claim ownership, thus steering up their ego giving them self-worth and respect among individuals. Not only that, but also has the emotion of belonging to a group of landlords, and people love to be associated with a group of respected individuals, especially of high calibres, and owning a house of theirs is a good way of belonging to one. Considering why owning a residence is a good trend, firstly, it establishes a strong bond with the community. At every stage of one's life, every individual love to have a strong tie with some people or association and this is what is seen in possessing a home, it gives a strong connection with the society in which an individual would be glad to be called a member. For example, people who owned a house on Lagos Island are popularly called Islanders and this command some respect among their friends and family because the cost of housing and living is quite expensive. In addition, privacy at its peak is assured as a landlord. The right to change the colour of one's room, party, clubbing at night, listen to music at high volume and own a pet is what an individual can enjoy when one owned a house called by one's name, however, this is not possible as a tenant because every action is influenced by some else's decision. Lastly, housing is a great way to invest. In today's world, houses and real estate have become the talk of the town because of how residents appreciate with time as modernization and technology advance. For example, the house my father bought 10 years ago for marking his golden jubilee is now valued 80% more. In conclusion, the feeling of ownership and belonging can not be denied as a resident. Strong ties to the community, privacy and investment plan are a few of the numerous reasons why owning a residence is a positive development worth exploring.