Young people are more likely to be involved in car accidents, therefore the legal driving age should be raised to 22 years old. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, youths are found having accident with vehicles than the adults,and this occurrence calls for upgrading the driving age to be 22 years old. I agree with this policy due to all the reason I will discuss in my essay. To start with, there are many reasons why youngsters cannot handle cars safely on the roads. The reasons include, low concentration at the teenage period, immaturity and peer pressure, and all these affect their ways of doing things generally. Diversion of minds seen in these age groups has led to many accidents. Immaturity of all senses at the period, make many of them not able to control their emotions, and this making them to be prone to driving related injuries, while peer pressure lures larger percentage of youngsters to impatience, which causes a lot of accident on the roads. On the other hand, safe driving has been linked with advancement in age. Adults who drive are always cautious, and trauma are not commonly seen at the age group above 22 years old. According to the statistics released in Lagos, Nigeria, by the Federal road safety Corps on the age groups frequently involved in vehicle accidents in 2021, it is glaring that 75% of the cars accident were caused by child - driving. So, it is clear without mincing words that accident are less frequent with car users that are 22 years and above. In conclusion, to reduce car accidents on our highways, government should make a policy, backed by law, making driving age to start at 22 years, and this will curtail many accident caused by youth immature handling of cars.