“For all children, the ability to play a musical instrument is just as important as the ability to read and write”. How far you agree with this suggestion? How important is it for a child to learn to play a musical instrument, in your view?

The quote,"All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy" is comparable to the present era, where young adults are mostly pushed towards purely academic fields,thereby,ignoring the extracurricular activities which enhance the overall development of a young individual. This highlights the importance of other non-scholastic ventures like playing musical instruments which are argued to be equally important for a young mind. This essay discusses how the introduction of arts in the form of music can bring about a change in a child's growth. Firstly,playing musical instruments involves a complex combination of mental and physical coordination. For example,playing the piano includes constant movement of fingers and memorising the notes.Research shows that students who learn to play musical instruments have a sharper memory which reflects in their academics, subsequently. Therefore, besides providing a platform for increased brain activity and retaining capacity,it also provides a safe haven for children with low mood and morale,because some children consider this hobby to distract from depression and self-deprecating behaviour. Furthermore,young adults who are in bands and choirs have greater virtue of unity and integrity which enhances their moral attributes at an early age.The various music festivals bring about creativity and competitive spirit which is much needed in a growing child. Although music is considered an extracurricular activity,it is often taken up by children as a full-time career option,thereby proving several opportunities apart from scholarly fields. Hence,exposing children to music can be regarded as beneficial in terms of their emotional and moral well-being. To conclude,academics as a standalone can be monotonous and one-dimensional to a student's improvement.Providing a complementary platform with music,can in turn improve a child's academic and overall development in the form of creativity,memory and other attributes.