Nowadays, employers consider formal academic qualifications more important than life experience and personal qualities. Why is that? Is it a positive or negative development?

It is argued by some that a degree is very essential these days when recruiting than an individual's expertise and dispositions. I will outline the reason that can be attributed to this phenomenon. In my opinion, it is a negative development. Admittedly, there are some basic benefits of recruiters considering a diploma certificate. As clothes are the first impression, so is the strength of a job. In other words, the degree is proof that a person has acquired the necessary academic knowledge to carry out a job. A degree reveals much about a person than just their academic prowess. It affects all parts of an individual's life such as intellectual, social, personal, and ethical. So they can be trusted with more responsible roles. Moreover, recruiters specifying that a formal document is needed before looking into experiences enables them to employ suitable candidates. For example, when an engineering firm or banking industry is bringing in a new employee they ensure those individuals with a qualification are given the opportunities for the work because they had undergone specialized years of training and acquired the relevant basic knowledge that would be built upon the job. For this reason, a very useful asset for the company is employed. Nevertheless, executives laying more emphasis on academic qualifications at the expense of real-life experience and temperament has an adverse effect. This is because,in the recruiting process, hands-on skills and personal traits are also very crucial to assess. Social skills reflect a person's ability to work with others and develop long-term relationship which forms the basis of teamwork and it is necessary for any organisation. For example, a grade does not indicate how a human will function in real life even though, the individual might have been trained. Therefore, at the point of appointing new workers into a firm, it is paramount that personal traits such as creativity, ability to work under pressure and integrity should be reviewed. Furthermore, less attention given to soft skills may result in bringing in employees with the intelligence to succeed but who lack the emotional intelligence to work effectively. This can lead to interpersonal conflict, and frustration and sometimes such individuals may have to leave work. Hence, reducing the productivity of the organizations. In conclusion, it is understandable why heads give importance to qualifications. I think that skills and temperament are as important as qualifications during recruitment for the success or progress of any profession.