In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

In the days ahead, all cars, buses and trucks will drive on their own as the only persons travelling in these automobiles will be the passengers. I think the demerits of this technology exceed the merits as it will lead to loss of jobs of drivers and traffic wardens. Firstly, this innovation leading to less traffic congestion is one of its advantages. In, that vehicles will be driven by artificial intelligence that has been programmed with the relevant traffic rules, hence, eliminating the human behavior that causes unnecessary congestions. Secondly, safer travels are ensured. That is, the cases of accidents recorded from drunken drivers and reckless driving will be reduced as these artificial intelligence do not drink and have been well developed to drive within allowable speed limits. For instance, the fatal accident that occurred in Madagascar last year as a result of the overspeeding of the bus driver which led to the death of several people would have not happened if this technology was in use. Despite the benefits of this technology, it also comes with some drawbacks. In my opinion, I think these disadvantages outweigh its advantages. Owing to the major attribute of this innovation which is driverless, a lot of people particularly employed drivers and traffic wardens will be lose their jobs. This is due to the fact that the current job of the drivers will be taken over by this artificial intelligence. Furthermore, the need for traffic controllers will be eradicated as the vehicles will be programmed to obey traffic rules. Also, the fear that these vehicles may develop fault while on transit and might either leave their passengers stranded or even lead to unavoidable accidents is another setback. Due to the specific fact that these vehicles will be driven without human judgement. For example, in cases where it malfunctions, the impending disaster may be unavoidable. In conclusion, the plan of turning all vehicles to driverless with the only persons in them being the passengers have its demerits exceeding the merits as there will be loss of jobs and unavoidable accidents.