Information technology is changing many aspects of our lives and now dominates our home, leisure and work activities. To what extent do the benefits of information technology outweigh the disadvantages?

Some today would argue that the revolution in information technology has a pernicious impact generally. In my opinion, the drawbacks related to social interaction do not outweigh the positive possibilities now available to the average person. The legitimately worrying disadvantages to information technology concern interpersonal relationships. In the past, social interactions in person were more common. Today, a majority of conversations take place through messaging apps and on social media. The short-term result is that communication skills are in decline. The longer-term implications will create wider social trends. As people interact and form groups online they are more prone to groupthink and radicalization. What would normally be mitigated by one’s circle of friends and families, can now grow unabated in the virtual sphere with possible negative results for all of society. The main advantages of the current age are increases in what is possible. These possibilities are most basically conveniences. Users can save time by taking advantage of their phones to send emails, make calls, organize their day and undertake a variety of other tasks. As technology evolves, it has even become more common for employees to work remotely and therefore conserve time and energy commuting to and from the office. Beyond these simple comforts, people are able to accomplish more with digital devices. This includes the ability to write with word processors, edit videos on various applications, and then post and interact with a global audience through the internet and sites such as YouTube. In conclusion, despite the threat of a less socially active world, there are justifying benefits concerning human potentiality. Both the positives and negatives must be weighed and managed carefully.