Today different types of robots are being developed which can serve as companions and workers to help at work and at home. Is this a positive or negative development?

Technological advancements have developed nations to a large extent. While many people believe that robotic development has paved the path for new innovations, I personally believe that this has been a negative development for two main reasons. Firstly, the usage of robots at work or home can sometimes lead to great harm to humans. What it means is that, if for some reason there is a technical glitch in the robot's software, it can prove to be harmful to the humans accompanying the robot. For instance, if a robotic machine is used in cooking, safety precautions should be taken into account before giving any sharp instruments in its hands due to the possibility of a malfunction which could lead to danger to the person present. Moreover, if the software has a bug, one cannot guess the consequences of the software glitch, therefore, causing serious injuries. However, the main reason why I feel that this is a negative development is because of the danger of people becoming lethargic. Although many people might argue that including robots in day-to-day activities could be helpful and reduce the burden on humans, I personally feel that such robotic advancements have made people more and more lethargic owning to the reduction in physical work. For instance, in the olden days, people used to spend hours learning new recipes and cooking food manually for the whole family but due to the increase in technology people have lost interest in such hobbies as most of the work is done by machines. Additionally, owing to the continuous technological development, people will become slow and sluggish due to a lack of activity. In conclusion, not only does the inclusion of robots in everyday life lead to danger to humans but also makes people lethargic due to inactivity. Overall, I feel that this has been a negative development because of the above-mentioned reasons.